Item Image
Title Swing Kings : the inside story of baseball's home run revolution / Jared Diamond.
Author Diamond, Jared, author.
Publication [New York, NY] : William Morrow & Co., [an imprint of HarperCollins], [2020]
Description 1 online resource (336 pages)
Call # eBOOK
Summary "We are in a historic era for the home run. The 2017 season saw the most homers ever, with 2016 and 2018 close behind, a shift that has transformed the way the game is played. In Swing Kings, Wall Street Journal national baseball writer Jared Diamond reveals that the secret behind this unprecedented shift isn't steroids or the stitching of the baseballs, it's the most elemental explanation of all: the swing. In this lively narrative romp, he tracks a group of baseball's biggest stars -- including Aaron Judge and J.D. Martinez -- who remade their swings under the tutelage of a band of renegade coaches, and remade the game of baseball in the process. These coaches, many of them baseball washouts who have reinvented themselves as swing gurus, for years were one of the game's best-kept secrets. Now, as Diamond artfully charts, they're moving from the baseball margins to its center of power. They are changing the way hitting is taught to players of all ages, and major league clubs are scrambling for their services, hiring them in record numbers as coaches and consultants. Diamond himself, taking a page out of the George Plimpton playbook, enlisted the tutelage of each swing coach he profiles, with an aim toward starring in the annual Boston-New York media game at Yankee Stadium. Swing Kings is both a rollicking history of baseball's recent past and a deeply reported, character-driven account of a battle between opponents as old as time: old and new, change and stasis, the establishment and those who break from it. For fans of the game, old and young, and for readers of The Arm, Astroball, and of course Moneyball, Swing Kings is the next big book on America's pastime." -- Provided by publisher.
Note Print version record.
Subject Home runs (Baseball) -- History -- 21st century.
Batting (Baseball) -- History -- 21st century.
Baseball -- History -- 21st century.
Baseball. (OCoLC)fst00827904
Batting (Baseball) (OCoLC)fst00828881
Home runs (Baseball) (OCoLC)fst00959371
Genre History. (OCoLC)fst01411628
Electronic books.
Addl. Author OverDrive, Inc., distributor.
Related To Print version: Diamond, Jared (Journalist). Swing Kings. [New York, NY] : William Morrow & Co., [an imprint of HarperCollins], [2020] 9780062872104 (OCoLC)1109769153
ISBN 9780062872128 (electronic bk.)
0062872125 (electronic bk.)

Location CALL # Status Message
 Electronic Resource  eBOOK    ONLINE  (ONLINE)