Item Image
Title Electric noir : three thrillers by Jonathan Moore / by Jonathan Moore.
Author Moore, Jonathan, 1977- author.
Publication New York, NY : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019.
Description 1 online resource.
Call # eBOOK
Contents The poison artist -- The dark room -- The night market.
Summary A perfect set for fans of Stephen King, Michael Connelly, or Raymond Chandler, Electric Noir: Three Thrillers by Jonathan Moore collects three shockingly page-turning works (The Poison Artist, The Dark Room, and The Night Market) by an author who consistently gives us "suspense that never stops" (James Patterson). Included in this collection:THE POISON ARTIST "An electrifying read...' haven't read anything so terrifying since Red Dragon." -Stephen King "Magnificent, thoroughly unnerving...' dare you to look away." - Justin Cronin Caleb Maddox is a San Francisco toxicologist studying the chemical effects of pain. He's out drinking after a bad breakup when a hauntingly seductive woman sits down at his side. He talks to Emmeline over absinthe, but their encounter is fleeting. She brushes her lips on his ear and disappears. He must find her. As Caleb scours the city, he begins helping the city's medical examiner with a serial-murder investigation. Soon the search for the killer entwines with Caleb's hunt for Emmeline, and the closer he gets to each, the more dangerous his world becomes. "A wicked mix of Poe, The Silence of the Lambs, and Vertigo,"* The Poison Artist spins a thrilling tale of obsession, damage, a man unmoored by an unspeakable past, and a woman who offers the ultimate escape. "A totally new take on the mystery-thriller genre...'resh and unpredictable. The writing is top-notch...'rade: A." - Cleveland Plain Dealer "Genuinely scary, in the very best way, and nastily twisty, also in the very best way...'ypnotic." - Guardian * William LandayTHE DARK ROOM "If you like Michael Connelly's novels, you will gobble up Jonathan Moore's The Dark Room." -James Patterson "Channels the moody intensity of Raymond Chandler's crime fiction."-Washington Post Gavin Cain, an SFPD homicide inspector, is at an exhumation when his phone rings. The mayor is being blackmailed and has ordered Cain back to the city; a helicopter is on its way. The casket, and Cain's cold-case investigation, must wait. At City Hall, the mayor shows Cain four photographs he's received: the first, an unforgettable blonde; the second, pills and handcuffs on a nightstand; the third, the woman drinking from a flask; and last, the woman naked, unconscious, and shackled to a bed. The accompanying letter is straightforward: worse revelations will come unless the mayor takes his own life first. An "electrifying noir thriller,"* The Dark Room tracks Cain as he hunts for the blackmailer, pitching him into the web of destruction and devotion the mayor casts in his shadow. "With an Edgar Allan Poe feel to it, this book leaves an uncomfortable, indelible impression ... San Francisco has never been so menacing."-Kirkus, starred review *Booklist, starred reviewTHE NIGHT MARKET "The book's tone is Chandleresque, the conspiracy worrying Carver and Jenner expands to.
Note Online resource; title from PDF title page (EBSCO, viewed April 24, 2019).
Subject Amnesiacs -- Fiction.
Detectives -- Crimes against -- Fiction.
Extortion -- Fiction.
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Murder -- Investigation -- California -- San Francisco -- Fiction.
Poisoning -- Fiction.
Police -- California -- San Francisco -- Fiction.
Toxicologists -- Fiction.
Amnesiacs. (OCoLC)fst01738021
Extortion. (OCoLC)fst00918984
FICTION / General.
Murder -- Investigation. (OCoLC)fst01029788
Poisoning. (OCoLC)fst01068142
Police. (OCoLC)fst01068398
Toxicologists. (OCoLC)fst01153362
San Francisco (Calif.) -- Fiction.
California -- San Francisco. (OCoLC)fst01204481
Genre Electronic books.
Fiction. (OCoLC)fst01423787
Addl. Author Container of (expression): Moore, Jonathan, 1977- Dark room.
Container of (expression): Moore, Jonathan, 1977- Night market.
Container of (expression): Moore, Jonathan, 1977- Poison artist.
OverDrive, Inc., distributor.
ISBN 0358270081 (electronic bk.)
9780358270089 (electronic bk.)

Location CALL # Status Message
 Electronic Resource  eBOOK    ONLINE  (ONLINE)