Item Image
Title Private island [electronic resource] : why Britain now belongs to someone else / James Meek.
Author Meek, James, 1962-
Publication London : Verso, 2014.
Edition First edition.
Description 1 online resource.
text file
Call # eBOOK
Summary "In a little over a generation the bones and sinews of the British economy-- rail, energy, water, postal services, municipal housing--have been sold to remote, unaccountable private owners. In a series of brilliant portraits James Meek shows how Britain's common wealth became private, and the impact it has had on us all. In a series of panoramic accounts, Meek explores the human stories behind the incremental privatization of the nation over the last three decades. As our national assets are being sold, the new buyers reap the rewards, and the ordinary consumer is left to pay the ever rising bill. Urgent, powerfully written and deeply moving, Private Island is a passionate anatomy of the state of the nation for readers of Chavs and Whoops!"-- Provided by publisher.
Note Print version record.
Subject Privatization -- Great Britain.
Great Britain -- Economic conditions -- 21st century.
Great Britain -- Social conditions -- 21st century.
Genre Electronic books.
Addl. Author OverDrive, Inc.
Related To Print version: Meek, James, 1962- Private island. First Edition 9781781682906 (DLC) 2014012255 (OCoLC)881418173
ISBN 9781781682913 electronic bk.
1781682917 electronic bk.

Location CALL # Status Message
 Electronic Resource  eBOOK    ONLINE  (ONLINE)