Item Image
Title Within these lines / Stephanie Morrill.
Author Morrill, Stephanie, author.
Publication [Grand Rapids] : Blink, 2019.
Edition Unabridged.
Description 1 online resource (1 sound file (09 hr., 41 min., 29 sec.))
Time 094129
Description digital rdatr
audio file rdaft
Call # eAUDIO
Performer Read by Andrew Kanies and Morgan Fairbanks.
Summary When Evalina Cassano and Taichi Hamasaki are torn apart by the events following the attack on Pearl Harbor, they must fight if they want any hope of returning to one another before World War II steals their future together. Within These Lines is one unflinching, haunting, historical novel you don't want to miss; perfect for fans of Monica Hesse, Ruta Sepetys, and Elizabeth Wein.Evalina Cassano's life in an Italian-American family living in San Francisco in 1941 is quiet and ordinary until she falls in love with Taichi Hamasaki, the son of Japanese immigrants. Despite the scandal it would cause and that inter-racial marriage is illegal in California, Evalina and Taichi vow they will find a way to be together. But anti-Japanese feelings erupt across the country after the attack on Pearl Harbor, and Taichi and his family are forced to give up their farm and move to a Japanese-American internment camp.Degrading treatment makes life at Manzanar Relocation Center difficult. Taichi's only connection to the outside world is treasured letters from Evalina. Feeling that the only action she can take to help Taichi is to speak out against injustice, Evalina becomes increasingly vocal at school and at home. Meanwhile, inside Manzanar, fighting between different Japanese-American factions arises. Taichi begins to doubt he will ever leave the camp alive. With tensions running high and their freedom on the line, Evalina and Taichi must hold true to their ideals and believe in their love to make a way back to each other against unbelievable odds. Within These Lines:Is a young adult historical novel set in the World War II eraContains themes of love, separation, social justice, war, and diversityPerfect for junior high and high school studentsA Junior Library Guild Gold Standard selection
Note Online resource; title from title details screen (OverDrive, viewed March 11, 2019).
Subject Manzanar War Relocation Center -- Fiction.
Manzanar War Relocation Center. (OCoLC)fst00532959
Evacuation and relocation of Japanese Americans (United States : 1942-1945) (OCoLC)fst01801850
World War (1939-1945) (OCoLC)fst01180924
Interracial dating -- Fiction.
Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945 -- Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 -- United States -- Fiction.
Japanese Americans -- Fiction.
Interracial dating. (OCoLC)fst00977480
Japanese Americans. (OCoLC)fst00981441
United States. (OCoLC)fst01204155
1939-1945
Genre Historical fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Audiobooks.
Downloadable audio books.
Audiobooks. (OCoLC)fst01726208
Fiction. (OCoLC)fst01423787
Historical fiction. (OCoLC)fst01726640
Addl. Author Kanies, Andrew, narrator.
Fairbanks, Morgan, narrator.
OverDrive, Inc., distributor.
ISBN 9780310768630 (electronic audio bk.)
0310768632 (electronic audio bk.)

Location CALL # Status Message
 Electronic Resource  eAUDIO    ONLINE  (ONLINE)