Item Image
Title The four books / Yan Lianke ; translated from the Chinese by Carlos Rojas.
Author Yan, Lianke, 1958-
Publication New York : Grove Press, [2015]
Copyright date ©2015
Edition First edition.
Description 1 online resource (xii, 338 pages)
text file
Call # eBOOK
Note First published as Sishu by Mingpao Publishing Company, Ltd. in 2010.
Summary In the ninety-ninth district of a sprawling reeducation compound, freethinking artists and academics are detained to strengthen their loyalty to Communist ideologies. They are forced to carry out grueling physical work and are encouraged to inform on each other for dissident behavior. The prize: winning the chance at freedom. They're overseen by preadolescent supervisor, the Child, who delights in reward systems and excessive punishments. When agricultural and industrial production quotas are raised to an unattainable level, the ninety-ninth district dissolves into lawlessness. And then, as inclement weather and famine set in, they are abandoned by the regime and left alone to survive.
Note Print version record.
Subject China -- Economic conditions -- 1949-1976 -- Fiction.
Labor camps -- China -- Fiction.
Communism -- China -- Fiction.
Famines -- China -- Fiction.
Communism. (OCoLC)fst00870421
Economic history. (OCoLC)fst00901974
Famines. (OCoLC)fst00920590
Labor camps. (OCoLC)fst00989882
China. (OCoLC)fst01206073
Genre Fiction. (OCoLC)fst01423787
Electronic books.
Addl. Author Rojas, Carlos, 1970-
OverDrive, Inc.
Addl. Title Sishu. English
Related To Print version: Yan, Lianke, 1958- author. Sishu. English. Four books. First edition 9780802123121 (OCoLC)883651123
ISBN 9780802191878 electronic bk.
0802191878 electronic bk.

Location CALL # Status Message
 Electronic Resource  eBOOK    ONLINE  (ONLINE)