Item Image
Title Negrophobia : an urban parable / by Darius James ; introduction by Amy Abugo Ongiri.
Author James, Darius, author.
Publication New York : New York Review Books, [2019]
Copyright date ©2019
Description 1 online resource.
Call # eBOOK
Series New York Review Books Classics
New York Review Books classics.
Summary A provocative, raucous dark comedy about race and racism in America, now back in print after twenty-five years and with a new preface by the author. Darius James's scabrous, unapologetically raunchy, truly hilarious, and deeply scary Negrophobia is a wild-eyed reckoning with the mutating insanity of American racism. A screenplay for the mind, a performance on the page, a work of poetry, a mad mix of genres and styles, a novel in the tradition of William S. Burroughs and Ishmael Reed that is like no other novel, Negrophobia begins with the blonde bombshell Bubbles Brazil succumbing to a voodoo spell and entering the inner darkness of her own shiny being. Here crackheads parade in the guise of Muppets, Muslims beat conga drums, Negroes have numbers for names, and H. Rap Remus demands the total and instantaneous extermination of the white race through spontaneous combustion. By the end of it all, after going on a weird trip for the ages, Bubbles herself is strangely transformed.
Note Online resource; title from EPUB title page (OverDrive, viewed February 26, 2019).
Subject Racism -- Fiction.
African Americans -- Fiction.
FICTION / Humorous / Black Humor.
African Americans. (OCoLC)fst00799558
Racism. (OCoLC)fst01086616
Genre Electronic books.
Fiction. (OCoLC)fst01423787
Addl. Author Ongiri, Amy Abugo, 1968- writer of introduction.
OverDrive, Inc., distributor.
Related To Print version: James, Darius. Negrophobia. New York, NY : New York Review Review of Books, [2019] 9781681373294 (DLC) 2018029645 (OCoLC)1037295557
ISBN 9781681373485 (electronic bk.)
1681373483 (electronic bk.)

Location CALL # Status Message
 Electronic Resource  eBOOK    ONLINE  (ONLINE)