38 results found. Sorted by relevance | date | title .
Item Image
Title Vanessa and her sister : a novel / Priya Parmar.
Author Parmar, Priya, 1974-
Publication New York : Books on Tape, 2014.
Edition Unabridged.
Description 1 online resource (1 sound file (10 hr., 52 min., 37 sec.)) : digital.
Time 105237
Description digital
audio file
Call # eAUDIO
Summary For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the controversial and popular circle of intellectuals known as the Bloomsbury Group. London 1905. The city is alight with change and the Stephen siblings are at the forefront. Vanessa, Virginia, Thoby, and Adrian are leaving behind their childhood home and taking a house in the leafy heart of avant-garde Bloomsbury. There they bring together a glittering circle of brilliant, outrageous artistic friends who will grow into legend and come to be known as the Bloomsbury Group. And at the center of the charmed circle are the devoted, gifted sisters: Vanessa, the painter, and Virginia, the writer. Each member of the group will go on to earn fame and success, but so far Vanessa Bell has never sold a painting. Virginia Woolf's book review has just been turned down by The Times. Lytton Strachey has not published anything. E. M. Forster has finished his first novel but does not like the title. Leonard Woolf is still a civil servant in Ceylon, and John Maynard Keynes is looking for a job. Together, this sparkling coterie of writers and artists throw away convention and embrace the wild freedom of being young, single bohemians in London. But the landscape shifts when Vanessa unexpectedly falls in love and her sister feels dangerously abandoned. Eerily possessive, charismatic, manipulative, and brilliant, Virginia has always lived in the shelter of Vanessa's constant attention and encouragement. Without it, she careens toward self-destruction and madness. As tragedy and betrayal threaten to destroy the family, Vanessa must decide if it is finally time to protect her own happiness above all else. The work of exciting young newcomer Priya Parmar, Vanessa and Her Sister exquisitely captures the champagne-heady days of prewar London and the extraordinary lives of sisters Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf.Advance praise for Vanessa and Her Sister "Priya Parmar is on a high-wire act all her own in this radiantly original novel about the Bloomsbury Set. Irrepressible, with charm and brio to spare, Vanessa and Her Sister boldly invites us to that moment in history when famous minds sparked and collided, shaping the terrain of art and letters. But it's the two sisters who are most bewitching here--rocking on the brink of unforgivable transgression, changing each other in ways far-reaching and profound. Prepare to be dazzled."--Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife "With sparkling wit and insight, Priya Parmar sets us down into the legendary Bloomsbury household of the Stephen siblings, where sisters Vanessa and Virginia vie for love and primacy amid a collection of eccentric guests. Vanessa and Her Sister kidnapped me for a couple of days. I couldn't put it down."--Nancy Horan, author of Loving Frank "This is the novel I didn't know I was waiting for, and it is, quite simply, astonishing. Not just because of Priya Parmar's preternatural skill at evoking the moment when the lid was coming off the Victorians and the heated talk about art, life, and sex swirled through Bloomsbury, but because of how she has caught the two sisters at the center of that swirl--the women who would become Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf. Vanessa and Her Sister is beautiful and wise, and as deft as a stroke upon the canvas."--Sarah Blake, author of The PostmistressFrom the Hardcover edition.
Performer Read by Emilia Fox, Clare Corbett, Julian Rhind-Tutt, Daniel Pirrie, and Anthony Calf.
Note Hard copy version record.
Subject Bell, Vanessa, 1879-1961 -- Fiction.
Woolf, Virginia, 1882-1941 -- Fiction.
Sisters -- Fiction.
Women artists -- England -- 20th century -- Fiction.
Women authors, English -- 20th century -- Fiction.
Bloomsbury group -- Fiction.
London (England) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century -- Fiction.
Genre Biographical fiction.
Historical fiction.
Audiobooks.
Downloadable audio books.
Addl. Author Corbett, Clare.
Fox, Emilia, 1974-
Rhind-Tutt, Julian, 1968-
Pirrie, Daniel.
Calf, Anthony.
OverDrive, Inc., distributor.
Related To Source record: Parmar, Priya, 1974- Vanessa and her sister. Unabridged. [Westminster, MD] : Books on Tape ; New York : Random House Audio, [2014] 9780553545623 (OCoLC)880238340
ISBN 9780553398458 electronic audio bk.
0553398458 electronic audio bk.

Location CALL # Status Message
 Electronic Resource  eAUDIO    ONLINE  (ONLINE)