140 results found. Sorted by relevance | date | title .
Item Image
Title The eyes of the queen [electronic resource] : A novel. Oliver Clements.
Author Clements, Oliver.
Imprint 2020.
Description 1 online resource
Call # eBOOK
Series An Agents of the Crown Novel.
Summary In this first novel of the exhilarating Spymasters series, a man who will become the original MI6 agent protects England and Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth I from Spain's nefarious plan to crush the Age of the Enlightenment. After centuries locked in an endless cycle of poverty, persecution, and barbarity, Europe has finally emerged into the Age of Enlightenment. Scientists, philosophers, scholars, and poets alike believe this to be a new era of reason and hope for all. But the forces of darkness haven't completely dissipated, as Spain hunts and butchers any who dare to defy its ironclad Catholic orthodoxy. Only one nation can fight the black shadow that threatens this new age, and that is Britain, now ruled by a brilliant young Queen Elizabeth I. But although she may be brave and headstrong, Elizabeth knows she cannot win this war simply by force of arms. After her armies have been slashed in half, her treasury is on its knees. Elizabeth needs a new kind of weapon forged to fight a new kind of war, in which stealth and secrecy, not bloodshed, are the means. In this tense situation, Her Majesty's Secret Service is born with the charismatic John Dee at its head. A scholar, a soldier, and an alchemist, Dee is loyal only to the truth and to his Queen. And for her, the woman he's forbidden from loving, he is prepared to risk his life. A visceral and heart-pumping historical thriller, The Eyes of the Queen is perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Dan Brown.
Reproduction Electronic reproduction. New York : Atria/Leopoldo & Co., 2020. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 3627 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB).
Subject Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Thriller.
Genre Electronic books.
Related To Original 9781501154690
ISBN 9781501154713 (electronic bk)

Location CALL # Status Message
 Electronic Resource  eBOOK    ONLINE  (ONLINE)