72 results found. Sorted by relevance | date | title .
Item Image
Title Almost American girl : an illustrated memoir / Robin Ha.
Author Ha, Robin, author, illustrator.
Publication New York, N.Y. : Balzer + Bray/Harper Alley, imprints of HarperCollins Publishers, [2020]
Edition First edition.
Description 1 online resource (227 pages, 7 unnumbered pages) : chiefly color illustrations.
Call # eBOOK
Summary "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined"--Amazon.com.
Note Print version record.
Subject Immigrants -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Authors, American -- Virginia -- Falls Church -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Emigration and immigration -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Mothers and daughters -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Single mothers -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Teenage girls -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Koreans -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Stepfamilies -- Comic books, strips, etc.
English language -- Study and teaching -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Korean American families -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Korean Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- Authorship -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Graphic novels -- Authorship -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Women immigrants -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Women illustrators -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Korea -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Alabama -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Authors, American. (OCoLC)fst00821764
Comic books, strips, etc. -- Authorship. (OCoLC)fst00869148
Emigration and immigration. (OCoLC)fst00908690
English language -- Study and teaching. (OCoLC)fst00911670
Immigrants. (OCoLC)fst00967712
Korean American families. (OCoLC)fst00988568
Korean Americans. (OCoLC)fst00988587
Koreans. (OCoLC)fst00988927
Mothers and daughters. (OCoLC)fst01026997
Single mothers. (OCoLC)fst01119370
Stepfamilies. (OCoLC)fst01133080
Teenage girls. (OCoLC)fst01145412
Women illustrators. (OCoLC)fst01177763
Women immigrants. (OCoLC)fst01177764
Alabama. (OCoLC)fst01204694
Korea. (OCoLC)fst01206434
United States. (OCoLC)fst01204155
Virginia -- Falls Church. (OCoLC)fst01206556
Genre Electronic books.
Electronic books.
Autobiographical comics. (OCoLC)fst01921583
Autobiographies. (OCoLC)fst01919894
Biographies. (OCoLC)fst01919896
Comic books, strips, etc. (OCoLC)fst01423722
Comics (Graphic works) (OCoLC)fst01921613
Graphic novels. (OCoLC)fst01726630
Nonfiction comics. (OCoLC)fst01921721
Graphic novels.
Comics (Graphic works)
Autobiographies.
Biographies.
Autobiographical comics.
Nonfiction comics.
Addl. Author OverDrive, Inc., distributor.
Related To Print version: Ha, Robin. Almost American girl. First edition. New York, N.Y. : Balzer + Bray/Harper Alley, imprints of HarperCollins Publishers, [2020] 9780062685100 (OCoLC)1137374420
ISBN 9780062685117 (electronic bk.)
0062685112 (electronic bk.)

Location CALL # Status Message
 Electronic Resource  eBOOK    ONLINE  (ONLINE)