When breath becomes air / Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese
eAudiobook | Random House Audio | 2016 | Unabridged.
Not Available (0 of 10 copies available; 4 on hold) eBookId: 3FA2B0AC-6949-4BE7-9085-49A1FA1CDC13
Be the first to rate
Be the first to rate

More Details

Edition
Unabridged.
Description
1 online resource (1 sound file (05 hr., 27 min., 29 sec.)) : digital
Time
052729
Description
digital
audio file rda
Performer
Read by Sunil Malhotra and Cassandra Campbell.
Summary
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
Note
Online resource; title from title details screen (OverDrive, viewed January 18, 2016).
Subject
Genre
Addl. Author
Verghese, A. (Abraham), 1955- writer of foreword.
Malhotra, Sunil, narrator.
Campbell, Cassandra, narrator.
OverDrive, Inc., distributor.
ISBN
9780399566172 electronic audio bk.
0399566171 electronic audio bk.
(ONLINE)
View in classic catalog MARC display
Lists that include this item
Back to top