Blue plate special [electronic resource] : an autobiography of my appetites / Kate Christensen
    eBook | Doubleday | 2013 | First edition.
    Available online (3 of 3 copies available; 0 on hold) eBookId: 3EDBE7D8-308B-400B-A6C4-325A2E38FA63
    Be the first to rate
    Be the first to rate

    More Details

    Edition
    First edition.
    Description
    1 online resource (353 pages)
    text file
    Summary
    "In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, [this book] is a narrative in which food--eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it--becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger--not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging--with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists"--Dust jacket flap.
    A mouthwatering literary memoir about an unusual upbringing and the long, winding path to happiness. For Christensen, food and eating have always been powerful connectors to self and world. In this passionate feast of a memoir she reflects upon her journey of innocence lost and wisdom gained, mistakes made and lessons learned, and hearts broken and mended. And food-- eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it-- becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life.
    Contents
    Prologue -- Berkeley -- Wildermuth -- San Miguel -- Verde Valley and Spring Valley -- France -- Upstate, Oregon, Iowa -- New York -- Williamsburg and Greenpoint -- Monitor Street -- New England.
    Note
    Description based on print version record.
    Subject
    Genre
    Addl. Author
    OverDrive, Inc.
    Alt Title
    Autobiography of my appetites
    Related To
    Print version: Christensen, Kate, 1962- Blue plate special. 1st ed. New York : Doubleday, [2013] 9780385536264 (DLC) 2012048556 (OCoLC)823860695
    ISBN
    9780385536271 (electronic bk.)
    0385536275 (electronic bk.)
    (ONLINE)
    View in classic catalog MARC display
    Lists that include this item
    Back to top