When you look like us [electronic resource] / Pamela N Harris
eBook | 2021.
Not Available (0 of 2 copies available; 3 on hold) eBookId: 9CEECAA8-161E-4CD4-BB56-996D4E4AFE7B

More Details

Description
1 online resource
Summary
From debut author Pamela Harris comes a timely, gripping teen novel about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls' disappearances are too often overlooked. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson. When you look like us-brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades-everyone else thinks you're trouble. No one even blinks twice over a missing black girl from public housing because she must've brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister Nicole just got caught up with her boyfriend-a drug dealer-and his friends. But she's been gone too long. Nic, where are you? If I hadn't hung up on her that night, she would be at our house, spending time with Grandma. If I was a better brother, she'd be finishing senior year instead of being another name on a missing persons list. It's time to step up, to do what the Newport News police department won't. Bring her home.
Reproduction
Electronic reproduction. New York : Quill Tree Books, 2021. Requires Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 5 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB).
Genre
Subject
Genre
Addl. Author
Related To
Original 9780062945891
ISBN
9780062945914 (electronic bk)
(ONLINE)
Browse Results
View in classic catalog MARC display
Lists that include this item
Back to top